Angie's Diary

Part of my life.

Posted on: July 2, 2012

The Start of a Miracle

One day, I was just being bored like usual and reached out for my iTouch.

I don’t know why I clicked on “Video”, but I did.

And I saw a bunch of K-POP MVs downloaded by my cousin who likes K-POP.
I went to Thailand to visit and while at there, I let my cousin to use my iTouch.

I clicked one of the video, didn’t know that the miracle will happen.

The song started to play.

♪ Do do it, Chu~ It’s true, true, true, true it’s You~ Do do it, Chu~ ♪

I started to pay close attention to it. It was nothing like I’ve seen before in my entire life.

With the upbeat melody, cool dance choreography, pretty 5 girls singing, I started to smile and think, “Oh, this song is pretty… cool!” 

I looked at the video, it says, “f(x) – Chu~”.
From then, I started to listen to that song. But one day, I was just internet surfing and somehow I was on YouTube.

So, I said to myself, “Why not write “f(x)” since I liked their song, Chu~, maybe they’ve released other cool songs!”

So, from there, started the miracle… me being a K-POP fan.

I started to watch their song, Nu ABO. I don’t remember how I got started to like other K-POP groups… maybe related videos?

Being a K-POP fan 

It has been about 1 year and a half. Hmm, looking at that, 1 year and a half… isn’t that short?
Then, why do I feel like I’m already a part of a family?
I guess time doesn’t matter as long as you support your favorite idol the right way.

In those time, I started to become a part of a BIG family, a “S♥NE.”
Being a “S♥NE,” and a K-POP fan in general, has… changed my life?

I started to be more interested in a lot of things like Korean culture, Korean language, fashion, cosmetics,  and not to mention, Korean food!

If I didn’t found out about K-POP, I would probably not be on internet often, become a fan of some T-POP group or solo since I am Thai and I used to like them before K-POP came to my life (I still listen to their music sometimes), probably would have more savings, wouldn’t exercise and/or try to eat healthier, and a lot of other things.

But thankfully, I’ve found it! And I usually would lost my fandom for someone in about a year or two.

But K-POP survived and I don’t think I’ll ever lose my obsession for it. I’ve been sucked into a K-POP land and I’ll be stuck there for the rested of my life.

My parents, mostly my Mom, would always say, “You’re watching/listening to this Korean stuff again?”, “How do you even listen to them when you don’t even understand Korean?”, and all those other stuff.

Yes, that’s true. I don’t speak or understand  Korean but in the music world, it doesn’t matter where in the world you are, what language you speak, what ethnicity you are, what country you’re from, or even how old you are. Why? Because music is for everyone, and yes, I mean EVERYONE. Music is for enjoyment and even though I don’t understand, I don’t think there’s any language barrier. I actually tries to learn Korean just so that I can understand what they’re saying. See what K-POP can do to a person?

Now, I don’t just enjoy listening to their music or their stage personality. The thing that I love above that is their TRUE personality, their bonding between each other that gives me a warm family-feels, and how they can make me smile without knowing, laugh until I cry, and cry like I’ve been holding my tears for years.

I feel like I can connect to them and I believe other true K-POP fans could be able to say that too. I’m not the only person in this world who gives in my life for K-POP.

Going back to being a “S♥NE”, this make me realized who I really am and what I really want to become.

You know how when you like some groups that has more than one person, you usually pick one person to like the most.

But this is not the case, I love ALL of my 9 girls and no one less than other. Of course I do have my bias, but I give my love towards all 9 girls.

Being a loyal/true S♥NE, you have to remember to support them always and always believe in our girls. I, myself, believe that the person they showed on camera and off-camera is their true selves and that they’re not faking their personality.
My mom and the media will always say, “You don’t know the person behind the camera, because they can hide their dark true identities and fake themselves in front of the camera.”
But for me, K-POP and/or Girls’ Generation, to me are true and real. The person I see in TV shows and variety shows and what they said, because I am a S♥NE or in general, K-POP fan, I believe in their words because if I have a chance to become  an idol, I would definitely show my true personality and only hoping that people can except the real me because I cannot be anybody else.

My Dream Career
When I was young, I used to pretend that I’m a radio with my family and they’ll turn on the radio, then I’ll start to sing and dance automatically.

I didn’t think of it that serious since I was just a kid and didn’t think of my future ahead yet. But now that I’m growing up, I started to wonder, what do I want to be when I grow up as my career?

Then I realized that during those times of happiness or sadness, the only thing that can connect to my feelings is nothing other than music.

And since I love K-POP for their many different genres of music, I decided that I would want to become a K-idol.

Of course, I know become idol, or even just a trainee takes lots of effort and passion, I know if I just word hard and have passion for music, I can be able to achieve my dreams.

When I feel like no one can understand me, music does. I cannot express how much I love music or my passion for music, because it’s overloaded.

My mom always tell me that I should be a doctor. Of course, parents would want you to become something that they don’t have to worry about since being a doctor, it’s like the top job and you can also receive a lot of money by working. But I can’t. If I become something else, then… that’s not me. I wouldn’t have true happiness, I wouldn’t be able to do what I love… not saying that doctor or other jobs are bad (my aunt and uncle are doctors) but it’s just that everyone has different interests and passion. My mom always tell me I could never do it… but I believe in myself. And I will make everyone proud of me and prove that nothing is impossible. Seohyun taught me that, “If your dream is alive, then one day it will come true.”

Tiffany also said, ”Everything will be good as long as you do your best. Because if you do, there will be no regrets.”

She also said, ”I want to continue singing. As I get older, I want to be a singer that has an endless passion for music and stage performances.”

THAT is the true passion for music. This is why I love these girls so much. I feel like I can connect to their words and they always say something inspiring… Keke.

Thank you K-POP, for everything.

I know K-POP won’t last forever but this is just the start. K-POP has a long way to go and as long as there are still loyal fans, K-POP can last more than 30 years (and I said MORE than!).

We would want to keep this amazing one-of-a-kind treasure for the next generations to come, right?
K-POP, being a fan of you, I have NO regrets.

Leave a comment